Saturday, July 28, 2007

Line Rude

Waiting in line is hard for everyone. Here are some things people should avoid doing in order to make it a little easier for everyone.

1. Cutting in line. This should be obvious to everyone, but somehow this still happens and sometimes leads to confrontations. I don't care if you're in a hurry - other people in the line probably are too and you're holding them up by cutting. I also don't care if you see a friend in line and you want to talk to them - if they want to talk they'll get in the back of the line.

2. Invading personal space while in line. Being so close to me that I can feel your breath on my neck won't get you there any sooner.

3. Talking loudly, saying rude things. Usually, when a person's talking is bothering me, I can move, but I can't do that in line.

Note - Here are things you can do to make everyone's line stay a little easier. It's not rude if you don't do these things, but they're just nice things to do.
1. In the grocery store, let the person behind you go first if they have only one item and you have a full cart. This probably will hold you up for two minutes while saving them ten minutes.

2. When trying to get out of a parking lot at the same time, let one or two people out of a side row if possible. Note: I realise this is tricky, because sometimes you let one person out and everyone else in the row think they can come out too, and that won't make the people behind you very happy.

Saturday, July 7, 2007

Obvious Rudeness

Everyone should know that these things are rude, but obviously they either don't know or dont care.

1. Littering. Why should I have to look at ugliness just because you are too lazy to bring your garbage home or find the nearest garbage can? And I don't appreciate having to pick up your cigarette wrappers, fast food containers, etc., from my lawn - I am not your maid. Even worse, animals often get hurt because they get tangled in garbage or eat something they shouldn't have.

2. Phone hang-ups. Sometimes phone hang-ups are necessary, like when telemarketers won't take no for an answer, or someone is harassing you over the phone, but hanging up on someone to get the upper hand is a different matter. This is especially rude when the other caller is far away and can't handle things face-to-face. If you're too angry to talk about the matter at hand, just tell the caller that, and say good-bye.

3. Partying outside at night. I do realize that when people have been drinking, their judgement is clouded, but it shouldn't take that much judgement to figure out that most of your neighbors are sleeping at 3 a.m., and that playing music and talking loudly outside at this time might disturb them.

4. Being nasty to service-people. A select few might deserve it, but most are just doing their job and don't deserve to be treated badly by you because you are having a bad day or can't have your own way. And by the way, saying thank-you once and awhile wouldn't hurt.

5. Service-people who are nasty to customers. Yes, you hate your job and people have been treating you badly all day (see above), but that doesn't give you any rights to be nasty to me, who tries to be polite to everyone.


This is just a partial list. I'll add things as I think of them. Plus I will have special posts about topics like Work Rude, Internet Rude.